Sherri Torjman

Sherri Torjman is Vice-President of the Caledon Institute of Social Policy.  She has written in the areas of welfare reform, customized training, disability income and supports, the social dimension of sustainable development and community-based poverty reduction. Sherri is the author of the book Shared Space: The Communities Agenda. She has also written many Caledon reports includingReclaiming our HumanityStrategies for a Caring SocietyProposal for National Personal Supports FundSurvival-of-the-Fittest Employment PolicyThe Social Dimension of Sustainable DevelopmentThe Key to Kyoto: Social Dimensions of Climate ChangeThe Social Role of Local GovernmentThe Canada Pension Plan Disability BenefitReintegrating the Unemployed through Customized Training; and How Finance Re-formed Social Policy.

Sherri wrote the vision paper In Unison: A Canadian Approach to Disability Issues for the Federal/Provincial/Territorial Ministers Responsible for Social Services.  She has authored four books on disability policy: Income Insecurity, Poor Places, Nothing Personal and Direct Dollars.  Sherri wrote the welfare series of reports for the National Council of Welfare, includingWelfare in Canada: The Tangled Safety NetWelfare Reformand Welfare Incomes 1989,1990, 1991, 1992, 1993 and 1994.

In 2011, Sherri Torjman received the Champion of Human Services Award from the Ontario Municipal Social Services Association (OMSSA).  In 2010 Sherri was selected as a recipient of the Top 25 Canadians Award from the Canadian Association of Retired Persons.  Sherri was co-Chair of the Technical Advisory Committee on Tax Measures for Persons with Disabilities that reported to the Minister of Finance and the Minister of National Revenue in December 2004.  She has worked for the House of Commons Committee on the Disabled and the Handicapped, the House of Commons Special Committee on Child Care and the Royal Commission on New Reproductive Technologies.

Sherri taught a course in social policy at McGill University and is a former Board Member of the Ontario Trillium Foundation.